Olympics

Apparantly things in my house are training for the summer olympics.

I first noticed this a couple weeks ago when I was doing the laundery. As I reached for the bleach the bottom of the container hit the top edge of the laundery soap box. Apparantly the laundery soap box has been training for the high dive. The arc was beautiful – for artistry I gave it a 8.9 but the landing was rather messy, so for technical merit I only gave it a 6.5. Two bad things can’t dive in feet first rather than head first – I suppose that would just be jumping though. (I am still cleaning up laundery soap)

The next event I witnessed was gymnastics, specifically the vault. The can of dry soup mix that I was using for dinner one night vaulted out of my hands, did three full turns in the air and came down with a thump. It didn’t stick its landing though, so only gained an 8.5 – it also spilled it’s guts every where which wasn’t very pretty.

Jacob participates regularly in track and field trying to out run me. He is quite accomplished in shotput and discus throwing – thank goodness we haven’t moved to the lance yet. But fencing is a dangerous one for him. Is there olympic potty training? We are still working on that one….

Out front we have regular training for cycling as three girls have races up and down the front sidewalk.

James is training for the long jump of spit up – he’s doing quite well, I’m sure he holds some kind of record.

As for me, well I’m training for the triathalon or decathalon thing – I think most moms would be rather fierce competitors with all the day to day training we get. 😉 Most of us end up being track stars, great catchers, cyclists, gymnasts, and swimmers of some sort. Especially the track – any mom with a toddler (especially with a toddler boy) has to be great at track!

2 Comments

Filed under Every Day Life, Goofs, Humor, Jacob, James

2 responses to “Olympics

  1. Yea! I’m so glad you updated! Seriously…I was laughing so hard at this one! How in the world do you come up with this stuf?? I had great visuals…especially the soup mix and laundry detergent!!!! Love it!
    ~Cindy

  2. You have such a good attitude about things!

Leave a Reply

