Sushi!

One of the cool things about my two month stay in Japan, wow I just realized that was 12 years ago – was my first real sushi. I was staying with my sister who was living there with her family at the time and they took me to visit a good friend who served me my very first sushi, and boy was it GOOD. The only thing I didn’t try was the salmon egg kind, couldn’t bring myself to do it. But the rest was quite delectable.

While I was visiting my sister taught me how to make sushi rolls – not the raw fish kind – it isn’t that different, but I haven’t been brave enough to make my own for some reason. She also taught me a number of other things, like Chicken Katsu, Chicken Yakitori, Miso, and whole bunch of other things involving noodles and the like. I bought a small cookbook to help me remember how some of the things were made – and maybe even try som new ones. I also bought some of my first Japanese dishes and have little by little added to them over the years.

The other night Paul was begging for Japanese food, so I sushi rolled away. It was rather fun, though I missed my mother dearly as I remembered hours we spent together rolling sushi for weddings. Maybe someday I will have that experience with some of my own daughters. Anyway, with the sushi rolled and cut, it made a very pretty platter and I couldn’t resist a quick photo. So, the whole family had to wait while crazy mom stood on a chair and took a couple photos looking down on the table…

Sushi rolls!

Table is set and ready to go

(Mom and Dad, if you read this: yes, those are our fish plates – I gave 2 to Paul for his b-day. I promise we aren’t raiding your dishes …….. yet 😉 heh )

Family Japanese Dinner

6 Comments

Filed under Food, Japan

6 responses to “Sushi!

  1. My main question is this: did the kids eat it/like it?! I know that one of mine would take one look and run the other way 😉

    We’ve had it a few times, so the kids are used to it – actually they love it. They get super excited when they hear that “mommy is making Japanese food”. I wasn’t sure what Jacob would think, but even he was chowing down like there was no tomorrow.

  2. That looks great! Good on you for making all that! I like your fish plates :).

  3. I love how you have a cute family picture and there is Jacob picking his nose. Classic! I think that kids really start to eat what they see their parents eat. Evan and Harry love stir fry. It is fun to see them chow down on veggies that if presented another way would be snubbed.

  4. All I see is a kid picking his nose. LOL I see it didn’t go unnoticed to other bloggers as well.

  5. Philosophical Karen

    Not all kids eat what they see their parents eat, but it’s a nice thought (said by mom of picky eater). How fun that you can cook your own Japanese food. I’m content to let others cook it for me, that way I can eat raw fish as well as all the other stuff.

  6. Pamala

    Yummy! Some day I’d love to roll sushi rolls with you (after say November:-) Funny how things suddenly come to you. I looked at your family picture and realized, “Wow! All of her girls have front teeth.” It’s funny to watch as families grow older:-)

Leave a Reply

