The Missing DVD

Jacob’s favorite movie of all-time is the movie “Cars”. We watch it at least once a week, and anything McQueen or Mater he oogles over – I often have to literally fight him off stuff and haul him away arms out stretched howling for “Queen! Queen!” As a consequence, I avoid going down any such toy aisles when in a store. 🙂

This last week our “Cars” dvd disappeared. It was agonizing devestation as the boy in tears had to settle for “The Incredibles” – but he has a growing love for Dash, and it was a nice break from the beloved over watched “Cars”. The case was out, but the DVD was no where. It was quite apparant that Jacob had gotten a hold of it, and if that were the case it could very possibly be lost for ever or scratched beyond repair.

Sunday morning I opened the CD player to put on some children’s church songs. As the CD’s spun around, low and behold there sat “Cars” on top of Josh Grobin. The boy had managed to figure out how to open the stereo cabinet (not an easy feat with how we have secured it), managed to turn it on (not that hard, he seems to be drawn automatically to any power button within reach) and found the button that opened thd CD player (I’m sure he was disapointed when it didn’t play on the TV, hehe).

No wonder he was insisting it was in the DVD player all week.

I think I better read that list I posted again and prepare myself….

4 Comments

Filed under Children, Humor, Jacob

4 responses to “The Missing DVD

  1. OK, you go over a week without writing, then the week I don’t check blogs regularly you write every single day! I just caught up! First, Happy Birthday to Elizabeth! You did a great job on the cake, momma! Love the accents/handle in licorice! Nice touch! Also, hope Emily is feeling better. Great lesson for the kids about prayer.

    I just told Steph this morning that we need to get Jacob (ours 😉 ) the Cars DVD. He’s never seen it, but all the little boys seem to love it. He sure got one over on you, didn’t he. He TRIED to tell you where it was!! I’m gonna print that list out…we need to hang on for dear life with these little guys!!!!!

    ~Cindy

  2. Philosophical Karen

    Hey, it’s not only kids that put two disks in one reader. I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve done it. Then I wonder why “The Blues Brothers” is playing when I was sure I put “Bridget Jones’ Diary” in. Heh.

  3. Ok… Evan & Jacob would be best of friends. Evan loves “Cars” but is even more in love with “The Incredibles.” For his birthday he got a Dash Incredible bike complete with eye mask.

  4. We are going through a Cars crisis right now! We cannot find our Cars DVD either…we think it may be in the portable DVD player that has been taken away due to behavior, but we have not looked yet…these boys and McQueen are crazy!! Glad that he was found!

Leave a Reply

