Dorothy’s Baptism

One of the reasons this last week was sooooo busy and crazy was because we were getting ready for Dorothy’s baptism, and for Paul’s parents who were coming for the weekend.  I did a lot of cleaning – not that I wouldn’t have done it anyway, but it takes A LOT more to get things in order when you are interrupted consistently by a little baby who wants to eat and demands your attention with adorable smiles.  And there were many other things demanding my attention as well, such as grocery shopping, and numerous errands to run.  It was a never-ending flow of stuff and by the time the weekend hit I was stretched thin, and very tired.  The sudden heat wave didn’t help as temperatures rocketed to over 100 degrees. 

Friday night we ended up pulling out the hose and spraying everyone down, myself and Paul included, as we danced about in the yard with many squeals of delight. There wasn’t a dry spot on us by the time we were done. 🙂

We made it through the weekend, and it was all worth it, as Dorothy was baptized on Sunday. It was the sweetest experience. She planned the whole program – Grandma W gave a talk on baptism, Auntie Tara (an honorary aunt) gave a talk on the Gift of the Holy Ghost, Grandpa W baptized her, she sang a musical number and Dad confirmed her a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. She had Uncle Paul lead the music, my student and her baby sitter play the piano, and myself and Aunt Pamala do prayers. She had so much fun choosing songs and arranging everything just how she wanted it.

We all were amazed with how many people came, and it was so wonderful for her to have the support of our ward – though it made her a lot more nervous to sing. Most importantly the spirit was there so strong, testifying to us of the correctness of her decision. After she was baptized and we were in the changing room she told me, “I feel so happy mom,” then she grinned even bigger, “I feel the spirit.” I gave her the biggest squeeze and almost started crying. 🙂

She was beaming from ear to ear, and there has been quite the distinct difference in our little Dorothy. Oh how we love her – especially those sweet, sweet smiles. We recorded Dorothy singing her song, “If the Savior Stood Beside Me”. (The video isn’t the best quality, but it is the best I could manage, I have never tried to upload a video before…)

Dorothy before the baptism with Grandpa W and Dad (I changed the photo to black and white because the flourescent lighting in the hall cast a funky yellow hue over everything.)

Dot Baptism

5 Comments

Filed under Children, Dot, Family, Parenting, Religion

5 responses to “Dorothy’s Baptism

  1. Dang it, I teared up watching that video! What a great job she did singing! Such a special time for her (and you), Congratulations! 🙂

  2. Philosophical Karen

    Your video was nice and clear. What a beautiful little singer she is.

  3. What a sweet day!!! She has a really good singing voice! I teared up watching it too! How exciting for her and your family! What a big accomplishment!

  4. Oh how special!!! I can’t wait for the day to see Jayden get baptized. I have some good news 🙂 I think my husband might be getting baptized into the church soon. Make sure you come check out my blog in the next couple of days – I have an announcement to make ~ not his baptism, but something that sure might lead to it!

  5. Allrie

    Congratulatons to Dorothy and cudos on her singing. How brave! And to sound that good as well…OK, maybe not just brave–it is easier when one has talent! You’d mentioned that you had had difficulties with behaviors in recent months. That should stop now. I’ve noticed that my children all seemed to start lying, throwing tantrums like 2 yr olds etc. as the months led up to their baptisms, but once the “Deed was Done,” it was as if Satan just gave up on them for awhile, and each was as good as can be! Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

