Not the Answer I Expected

It was bedtime, I was tired, and from the dark recesses of the bedrooms a howl from Dot came floating down the hallway.  I sighed, knowing that the howl would be followed by Dorothy herself, and sure enough she quickly emerged from the darkness of the hall way into the light.

“Emily bit my finger.”

“Why were you with biting distance of Emily? Aren’t you supposed to be on the top bunk asleep.”

“Uhh, yeah.” She looked at me sheepishly.

“Then, you should have stayed there, and you wouldn’t have gotten bit.”

“Yeah.”

“Now to bed, and send Emily out.”

I heard the reluctantly shuffling long before I saw her, but eventually she came into view, holding back knowing she was in trouble.

“You bit Dorothy’s finger?” I asked.  I was not prepared for her answer in the slightest, and it was all I could do to keep from busting up laughing.  She still got in trouble, but i thought her answer was a pretty funny one.

“I thought it was a carrot,” Emily said.

8 Comments

Filed under Dot, Em, Humor, Things Kids Say

8 responses to “Not the Answer I Expected

  1. Oh funny! I always just love your stories. Kids say the funniest things.

  2. Philosophical Karen

    Hahaha! It would be tough to keep a straight face for that one. 🙂

  3. That is so funny!!!

    If her pillow disappears, you’ll know she was dreaming of marshmallows! 😉

  4. Oh that is hilarious! That just actually made my whole night!!

  5. Pamala

    I can just picture her face as she’s telling you. Paul and I laughed for quite some time.

  6. Allrie

    I think her answer was perfectly reasonable. My only question…where was the aforementioned finger in relation to Emily’s mouth prior to the bite?

  7. Hilarious!

    We ask similar questions, “why was your finger within biting range?” to Little Red. But Boy Blue has a while before we get answers like the carrot!

Leave a Reply

