At Least the Swelling went Down By My Birthday

We had set the small dome tent up in the back yard for the kids to sleep in while my brother and sister-in-law were here.  The kids had enjoyed some fun nights out there during the week, but Paul and I decided on Thursday it was time to take the tent down.  Jacob had torn a small hole in the netting – which I am going to attempt to patch.  I figured I would be the good helpful wife and approached the tent.

I grasped one of the tent poles and pulled it out from it’s loop.  Quicker than I could blink the pole slipped from my hand and whisked through the air – a deadly arc slicing the air. As it lept toward the sky it caught my upper lip and flipped it up so fast, I thought it was going to be sitting there vibrating back and forth for the entire evening. My lipped swelled up bigger than a cherry, bruised, and bled a little. 

Once Paul knew I was allright, he was trying his hardest not to bust up laughing – until I finally said, “It’s okay dear, you can laugh – it was pretty funny. But, if the swelling doesn’t go down by Saturday you are not taking a photos of me & I am not going anywhere.  Well – Friday the swelling was way down, and today it was nearly gone – it turned pretty colors, but at least it didn’t look like I had some sort of abnormal growth on my lip.

So, I can add another item to the “Be careful or you might poke your eye out” list.

So, the birthday was a lot of fun – the funniest gift (my present from James, of course):

DIaper Changing

Diaper Changing

Dorothy Diaper

The Bestest B-day present: My beloved backwards goofy watch was loosing time – my faithful husband managed to track me down a new one – a near impossible feat. 🙂

Goofy Watch

9 Comments

Filed under Goofs, Humor

9 responses to “At Least the Swelling went Down By My Birthday

  1. I didn’t realize it was your birthday. Happy Birthday! I’m barely getting it in on time. 🙂 Too bad about your lip. I didn’t notice it at all, so at least it healed fast! Great gift, by the way. 🙂

  2. Happy Birthday! I’m glad the swelling went down on yor lip 😦 … poor you! The gas mask will be very handy when changing stinky diapers … hehe, and is very funny :).

  3. Philosophical Karen

    Happy Birthday! I wouldn’t think you’d need a gas mask with all the practice you’ve had changing diapers. Yay on the watch! (I need to replace my Tinkerbell watch. Do you think your husband’s source would have one of those?)

  4. I wish you had posted pictures of your awful lip, but I can understand why you didn’t. Happy birthday!!!!

  5. You crack me up. Love the gas mask… wish I had one at times!!

  6. Funny!
    So, was the gas mask the present, or just the package in the diaper?

    Happy Birthday!

  7. That gas mask is so funny!!! Is it actually functional?

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

    No, it was a toy gas mask – Paul found it at the dollar store and thought it would be really funny 🙂

  8. April Brewster

    Happy Birthday! Sorry I’m late saying so, but I was traveling on that day. To Oregon! Wahoo! I can’t wait to see you!

  9. Ahhhh! I’m so sorry I missed your birthday ~ I love the gas mask. In fact, I think I need one! I hope you had a wonderful day!

Leave a Reply

