The Tillamook Cheese Factory Comes to Our House

My daughter Dorothy asked the other day if we could go to the Tillamook Cheese Factory. A sad face greeted our news that all our Saturdays for the next couple months are going to be full of soccer games. I woke up yesterday morning and realized that it was Labor Day, and perhaps we could go after all. But, as Paul and I discussed it, we decided there was a lot to get ready for school starting the next day – it just wasn’t feasible to take off to the coast. 

Then we had a brilliant idea; we decided to bring the Tillamook Cheese Factory to us. The girls were going to a friend’s house down the street to play and have their hair cut – this would give me the opportunity to create the perfect set-up.

I knew cheese was definitely on the menu and what is a trip to the Tillamook Cheese Factory without a delicious ice cream cone? So, off to the store I went. I had three different types of cheese at home, but I decided to take a quick peek in the cheese aisle to see if maybe I could pick up a flavor the kids weren’t used to. I was also hoping to find some cheese curds, which we affectionately call squeaky cheese – a must have every time we go to the factory. Unfortunately we could not find any squeaky cheese, but as luck would have it, the non-squeaky Tillamook cheeses were on sale! After grabbing a couple fun cheeses, I headed down the ice cream aisle. I wasn’t sure if real Tillamook ice cream would be on the list, but good fortune was with us as I, once again, found fabulous sale prices. Armed with my treasures, I checked out and quickly bolted home to set up our factory.

I cubed the cheeses and put each in a container with a label.  Then, I stacked toothpicks at one end – even remembering to include the “Please use one toothpick per sample” sign. At the other end of the counter I placed a little box to throw used toothpicks away in. 

The children are always begging us to use the 25-cent candy dispensers, but I rarely have change in my purse. I couldn’t remember if the Cheese Factory had one or not, but I decided it would be a fun addition anyway. I put a bunch of skittles in my candy dispenser with a sign saying that a dispensed handful was 25 cents. It wasn’t a fancy authentic dispenser though, so I had to set a little jar beside it for the quarters.

Then, to advertise the ice cream, I hung little sings from the cupboards above the cheese, that said “Ice Cream Cones $1”. I stood back to survey my work. While it looked rather fun and impressive, it was rather plain. Another great idea struck me – I needed cows! It was a good thing Paul and I were always finding corny cows for each other. I placed cows at each end of the counter and cows hiding between the cheese containers. Now, it looked more authentic.

To add the finishing touch, Paul made a “Welcome to Tillamook Cheese Factory” sign, complete with cows, and hung it on the front door. 

Not long after we finished setting everything up the children arrived. Paul met them at the front door and proceeded to take them to the Tillamook Cheese Factory and handed them their $1.50 for ice cream and skittles.  I stood behind the counter and took their orders – they even got to choose between two kinds (since it was on such a great sale). They got to eat their ice cream cones on the outdoor patio – and since our Cheese Factory was imagined it got to overlook a pretend ocean, so they got to eat their cones while enjoying a beautiful ocean view (of grass). heh 😀

Dorothy was tickled pink that even though we couldn’t take them to the real thing, we did our best to bring it to her – and all the kids thought it was a ton of fun – a great end to a fabulous summer.

10 Comments

Filed under Dot, Every Day Life, Family

10 responses to “The Tillamook Cheese Factory Comes to Our House

  1. Kim

    Wow – you’re such a creative parent! Sounds like so much fun!!

  2. You are my heroine.
    Wow.

  3. I really enjoyed this story. I can just picture the kids enjoying their Ice Cream and Cheese. I would love to link to this story on the Tillamook page on Facebook. Send me an email to let me know if this would be okay with you. Also, be sure to include your address so I can send you a thank you note.

  4. Karen

    Oh my goodness that is too cute! And looks like Tillamook took note, too. Congratulations!

    Thanks – though I was rather embarrassed at my poor writing once I saw that it had been noticed by Tillmook Cheese Factory PR – so I rewrote the post right. 🙂 Now that I think about it, none of my posts have been written very well of late – time to quit being lazy 🙂

  5. So creative!! I love this. Definitely an inspiring way to be parents and compromise with your children.

  6. How fun! I wish they sold Tillamook cheese out here. It is my FAVORITE!

    They do! 🙂 If you go to tillamookcheese.com you can got to a where to buy section and they will tell you state by state where you can go to find Tillamook cheese – how cool is that? 🙂

  7. That is just such an awesome experience! Thanks for sharing it Julia…

  8. Wow. You? Are the best mom ever.

  9. Just stopping in to say I was thinking of you guys! I know James’ surgery is supposed to be on the 15th. My Jacob’s knee surgery was moved to the 24th. What a fun couple weeks in October we will have!!

Leave a Reply

