We Finally had the Party

One problem with having such a full and fun summer is that summer birthday parties just don’t happen.  Emily turned six this year and by tradition she should have had a friend birthday party.  There just wasn’t an available Saturday to have it.  So, this last Saturday – after two soccer games – Emily finally had her friend birthday party.  She chose a jungle theme and I had quite the fun time coming up with ideas.  We did a couple of jungle related crafts, but the big thing of the party was the jungle safari.

Friday while the boys were napping I used my limited artistic skills to draw and paint giant jungle animals on cardboard – I ended up doing six of them and completing the project late late Friday night.  I also created, on the computer, passports for each kid.  I featured three continents – Asia, Africa, and South America – one per page. Searching through clipart and images on the internet I put stamps and poster images of some of the different countries on the continents to make the passports look for authentic – with a faded map of each continent as a background.  Then on each page I put a picture of two animals that would be found in that continent – girraffe & zebra for Africa, Elephant & Tiger for Asia, Monkey & Parrot for South America.  Beside each animal was an empty box. 

The time came in the party when I explained to the children that we were going to go on a safari. I had to take a few moments and describe to them what a safari was. Paul had taken the carboard paintings out into the yard during the beginning of the party and had hid them all over the yard and in the trees. 

I led them through the jungle vines (streamers) and out into the jungle where they would hunt for and spot the different jungle animals. Everytime they found one they were to come running to me and tell me and I would give them a sticker to put into their passport that matched the animal they found.
Safari 9

Safari 6

Safari 2

Safari 4

Safari 3

Safari 1

Safari 7

Safari 8

Safari 5
We also played the Ostrich Relay – you put a giant ostrich egg (white balloon) between your legs and run/waddle with it. It was hillarious! Especially because the wind kept catching the balloons and blowing them away – they kept popping too! 🙂
Ostrich Relay 2

Ostrich relay 1
 I squeezed in decorating a jungle cake for Emily in between her soccer game and her sisters’ game – good thing I baked the cake the night before. 🙂 
Jungle Cake 2

Jungle Cake 1

Jungle cake with candles

Blow Emmy, Blow!
We had a ton of fun – the safari was such a huge hit. I think I might hang onto those cardboard animals and play safari again with the kids sometime. 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Cakes, Children, Em

7 responses to “We Finally had the Party

  1. Definitely hang on to the animals! Those are so cute. What a great idea. I love your cake too. Sounds like a really fun party!

  2. How fun! And WOW, great job on the cake!

  3. You are so awesome! What a fun party!
    Happy Birthday, Emily!

  4. You do the most awesome birthday parties for your kids! I hope I can be that creative in another couple of years! We just had cupcakes at playgroup for Summer’s birthday this year. It’s Rosemary’s first next month and we did a pretty bang-up job for Summer’s first (with the photographic evidence to prove it) so I feel like I need to do something special for Rosemary as well. I have a couple of ideas … like go out to a farm out of town for a hayride and apple picking along with a picnic lunch, since it’s a fall birthday. For Summer, we had a pool party with an awesome baby pool, and everyone wore Hawaiian shirts.

  5. Karen

    Wow, I am so impressed. That cake is awesome. I love the idea of the safari. Sounds like the kids had fun!

  6. What a fun party! Everything looks great!

  7. Kellie

    YOu are sooooo creative. I’m bookmarking this entry so I can copy your party idea some day too. 🙂 That is the COOLEST cake I have ever seen. Down here in Texas I see lots of beautifully decorated cakes with colors and graphics but nothing like this. Wow!!! DIfferent note: i so love reading your blog. the things you do, the things you teach your kids, your creativity, and your love of life in general . . . ahhh i wish i was your neighbor! 🙂 Guess i’ll settle for keeping up with your blog cuz I don’t think I’ll get my Texas fam to move that far north. 🙂
    have a super day!
    Kel

Leave a Reply

