Tsunami Strikes

I wasn’t kidding when I mentioned that Jacob lives up to the word on the back of his shirt. We’ve often joked about nicknaming him Tsunami. 🙂 Well here are two Tsunami stories:

I was down to the wire. If I had any hope of getting dinner ready on time I had to get things started now.  I had decided on a delicious dinner of Russian chicken served over rice.  I grabbed the rice cooker, put in my rice and water and turned the cooker on. I went on about my business helping kids with homework and chores while I waited for the chicken to finish thawing. 

It wasn’t long after when I smelled something that resembled burning rubber.  Groaning to myself, I was sure it had to be something wrong with the vacuum Dorothy was using, and I walked into the living room.  As soon as I walked in, the smell vanished. Puzzled I went back towards the kitchen.  The smell was even stronger now.  I approached the rice cooker, and with each step the smell increased. I was becoming increasingly worried, after all, the rice cooker is fairly new and was a special present from my husband. I opened the lide to the cooker and and the burnt rubber smell overwhelmed me. I yanked out the plug and pulled out the metal bowl with the water and rice in it.  My nose took a brutal beating and my children fled the kitchen holding their breath.

I peered down into the bottom of the cooker and spied the culprit – half hiding beneath the center heating element was a partially melted rubber eraser.  I managed to extricate it with a pair of tongs. Thankfully no damage was done to my dependable rice cooker. And, my little Tsunami confessed during interrogation.

***

We have been working with Jacob on becoming potty trained – he currently wears pull-ups during the day to make it easier for him to go potty. The one draw back is that he will often discard his pull-up into the bathroom garbage. Even though it is only just wet (and not stinky) the smell can still pack a wallop, so we empty it frequently. 

Tonight was garbage night, so Paul was making the rounds through the house gathering everything up to haul outside. When he got to the kids’ bathroom the smell was especially strong. He went to empty the garbage can and saw about half an inch of pee in the bottom of the can.  Apparantly Jacob has been peeing in the garbage rather than the toilet.

*Sigh* Such a boy thing to do…

My lovely little Tsunami.

6 Comments

Filed under Children, Humor, Jacob

6 responses to “Tsunami Strikes

  1. Hi there _ love the blog!!! I’ve been lurking for a while now…and I use WordPress for my blog also. I had a uestion – I see on the side panel you have some really nice pics for your heart links. I want to be able to put similar pic/links on my side bar. How did you get yours to work? Thanks!

  2. Hahaha!

    Boy are you bringing back memories of Little Red and the sharpie, and Little Red and the cars! Fortunately, I have no experience (thus far) of little boys peeing in the wrong places. But I’m sure I will next year, #2 definitely has his own ideas of how things work.

  3. Karen

    How, um, sweet? ;0)

    Oh, and Go Dorothy with the Vacuum!!

  4. Rofl!!! Well he is starting to get the idea I guess.

  5. I can so totally relate to this post!! We had a similiar experience as your rice cooker, but with our toaster. And instead of an eraser, it was a purple crayon :). It was a 4 slice toaster which I loved for it’s convenience … but after the crayon melting incident, we could no longer use it, so we now have a plain 2 slice one. And as for the pee in the garbage can … yeah, been there too, unfortunately … but it was Riley (who is actually 9) and he was sleepwalking and did it in his bedroom garbage can rather than walk down the hallway to the bathroom. I didn’t notice it until a few days later when I smelled a nasty odor coming from his room and found dried, very gross smelly pee in the garbage can … ewww :).

  6. Ahhhh, those silly little boys named Jacob!! 😉

Leave a Reply

