A Random Friday Post

My husband kindly pointed out that I hadn’t written in a month – wow! Has it really been a month? That means I haven’t commented on my friends blogs in a month either – sorry guys, I’ve turned into a lurker aparantly. The sad part is that there have been so many funny things happen that I have said, “I’ll have to blog about that” and then I just never got to it – there were always so many OTHER things that needed to get done.

***

I am nearly ready for the second round of readers on my book, I’m waiting until after Christmas, but I’ll contact those I emailed soon. πŸ™‚ I appreciate everyone’s help. I have been editing, editing, and editing some more. My query rejection count is up to 3 – woohoo! Very cool. Seriously. πŸ™‚ I have a few places I will send the manuscript once I have it as perfect as I can get it. Oh, and I changed the title – it is now Belinda and the Beastly Neighbor

***

When I haven’t been editing, I’ve been sewing. When Dorothy and Elizabeth were babies I found an awesome stocking pattern idea in a Jo-Ann Fabrics ad. I made each of us stockings, and I have added to them as we have added to our family. This year I got to make James’ stocking and ten more! No – we are not adding ten people to our family, our midwife liked my stockings so much she hired me to make stocking for everyone in her family. I was supposed to do them in the summer, but I couldn’t find the pattern, so I have spent the last 3 weeks or so sewing and glueing feverishly. I finished them on Tuesday, and my brother said to take a picture – which I promptly did.

10 Stockings

10 Stockings 2

***

Our Thanksgiving was wonderful, and following our recent tradition of four years we went up to the hospital – though Elizabeth was sick again and so I went up with Dorothy and Emily while Paul stayed with Jacob, James, and Elizabeth. It was wonderful as always, though I really missed the rest of my family. We had our yummy dinner on Friday and chopped down our tree Saturday. For some reason, I didn’t sew or edit much that week-end. πŸ˜‰

Thanksgiving 2008 Collage

Christmas Tree 2008 Collage

Decorating Tree 2008 Collage

James' first Tree 2008 collage

***

Some things I have learned in the past few weeks:

Your child will not be harmed if you give him an old antibiotic that has passed its expiration date. Jacob had a dentist appointment and I gave him his pre-med only to realize with horror that it had since expired. A quick call to the ped reassured me that I hadn’t done anything drastic, and that it should still be fine – though it could loose some of its efficacy. The dental hygenist said though that they updated the protocal this year and that only heart valve replacements need to premedicate – so I’ll have some questions for our cardiologist when we see him in March.

***

Paul doesn’t mind helping me look for/ buy feminine products but he will not touch them. I absent mindedly handed him a box at the store and he tossed up his hands, “I’m not carrying those!” I laughed really hard. πŸ™‚

***

I understand why my father-in-law tells stories about his mother always keeping him with her in the kitchen, etc. Its because he was either always underfoot while she was in there and she put him to work, or it because he was always in trouble when he was out of sight – at least that’s how it is with Jacob. πŸ™‚ We have become BEST buddies lately, especially since if I turn my back for 5 seconds he is into something or doing something he shouldn’t.

***

3-year-olds trying to help in the kitchen are commical and you get NOTHING done.

***

Babies grow way to fast (I already knew this, but it has been re-enforced over the last few weeks since James is now clapping, waving, saying “Bye”, standing, and has taken a few steps occasionally.)

James Standing!

***

Its really funny to watch your flexible kids play Twister with your non-flexible husband. πŸ˜€

Twister 2008 Collage

Now I am trying to get ready for Christmas and a first birthday which seems to be approaching way too rappidly.

7 Comments

Filed under Children, Dot, Em, Every Day Life, Family, Jacob, James, Lizy, Parenting, Writing

7 responses to “A Random Friday Post

  1. Cute stockings, cute kids, cute post! Thanks for updating us on your crazy life!

  2. Pamala

    What a post! How did James switch from being a baby to a toddler so fast? I saw him not too long ago and now he looks completely different. LOL. I like the scrapbook way of sharing pictures.

  3. moniquel319

    Glad your posting again. I’ve missed reading your take on things! Very cute stockings by-the-way

  4. Those stockings are super cute!

    As far as antibiotics go, your dentist is right about the change. We first heard about the change from our Pediatrician and then talked to our cardiologist and dentist to make sure everyone was on the same page with no antibiotics. My sister (whose son has TOF) thought my cardiologist was nuts and called her son’s cardiologist to see what he said. So no more premeditating for her son either.

    Good luck with all your Christmas preparations!

  5. Golly he really is getting to be so big! Babies change so much so fast.

  6. Those stockings are awesome!!! Great post πŸ™‚ I’m going to be getting a sewing machine for Christmas… I’m not a sewer, but have sewed a quilt before. I loved it so much that I want to start on projects.

  7. I love all the pictures! So many great ones! Your day of getting the Christmas tree looks a lot better than ours was. πŸ™‚ It was snowing and poor Scott was down on the ground in the mud trying to cut the tree down, but it was worth it. (He even said so.) We love the tree and you can’t beat that price! Thanks for letting me know about that place.

Leave a Reply

