She’s Growing Up…. sort of

Last week we atended Paul’s work party and the owner of his company gave every child under the age of 16 a $10 gift card to Target. At the end of the evening we stopped at Target on our way home to let the kids have a little shopping spree.

Up and down the toy isles we walked with all the kids oohing and ahing over the different toys. All the kids except one. Elizabeth walked along, only stopping occasionally. Finally I pulled her aside.

“You’re getting a little old for toys, aren’t you?” I asked.

“Yes,” she replied.

“How about if we walk over to the art supplies.”

She agreed readily. On our way over to the art section, I asked her, “So, what would you like for Christmas and birthdays.”

She mentioned art things, books, clothes, slippers, etc. I couldn’t resist a smile as I replied to her list. “All right, so books, art supplies, clothes, and no more toys.”

She rolled her eyes at me, “I’m not THAT old yet. I still like SOME toys.”

3 Comments

Filed under Humor, Lizy, Things Kids Say

3 responses to “She’s Growing Up…. sort of

  1. It’s amazing how fast it seems to happen–the growing up! I’m trying to do what every empty nester tells me, “Enjoy them while they’re young.”

  2. Karen

    Yes, the toy years are perfect. They are so easy to buy for when they are young. Once they grow up (boys anyway — girls will probably always want clothes) it gets so hard to think of things for them.

  3. Pamala

    That’s great. I can’t believe she will be 10 in a few months.

Leave a Reply

