If I had lots of money, that’s what I would want to do

There is a couple in our small town that has down great and marvelous things for our community. They have donated land for schools, parks, and I am sure numerous other things. One of the neatest things that they do is to bring the Oregon Symphony to our small town once a year. They play in the college auditorium, and the best part about it, is that the tickets are free. What an amazing opportunity! We can’t begin to afford tickets to the symphony for the two of us, let alone the children.

So, early in March I laid anxiously in wait for the tickets to arrive at our chamber of commerce. Once they did, I pounced and recieved five tickets for Paul, myself, and our three oldest. We figured the boys were a little young yet. πŸ™‚

The day approached with mounting excitement. The concert was a pops concert – I typically prefer the classical concerts, but that night it was amazing! Byron Stripling was the symphony’s guest. He is absolutely amazing! He just wails on that trumpet hitting unearthly high notes that left us in awe. He can sing – his Louis Armstrong impression is fabulous, play amazingly, and is a comedian to boot. The girls were in hysterics, and Paul and I were laughing so hard we were near tears.

The entire concert featured jazz – I wasn’t too sure about a symphony orchestra playing jazz – but it was fabulous! I was amazed at the talent not only the director had, as he arranged all but one or two of the pieces, but the orchestra members as well to play pieces that must be so far out of their comfort zone.

The girls loved it, and Paul and I did as well. How often do you get to hear a world class trumpet soloist in person – and for free! If I had lots of money, that’s what I would want to do. I would want to bring in the orchestra (or something similar) and let people enjoy it for free.

A big thank you for the wonderful couple that gives our community such wonderful opportunities!

2 Comments

Filed under Music

2 responses to “If I had lots of money, that’s what I would want to do

  1. Karen

    Wow, sounds as if you guys had a great time. I thought the days of benefactors like that were long gone, but I guess not.

  2. That’s awesome!
    I haven’t been to a concert since we left school. 😦

    But when I’m superich, that’s exactly what I want to do with my money, too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

