Our last two beach trips

Our last two beach trips have been solo flights for me. Me and 5 kids – alone. The task seemed daunting, but let me tell you, we had the MOST fun! And I didn’t get completely frazzled or tear my hair out, or worry to death about kids in the ocean. In fact, the kids in the ocean thing was my one major rule. Water was off limits because I was worried about keeping everyone safe.

Imagine how excited we were then to land on a beach with giant puddles the first time left behind as the tide went out.

June Beach Trips-001

Yes – they are really jumping off that bucket into the knee-deep water – knee deep for them that is. Full fledge belly flopping going on! But boy did they have a ton of fun! And what a gorgeous day to boot!

Then last week I took them to the beach and met up with some friends from Washington who stopped at the coast for a day while on their vacation. Our first stop was the Yaquina Head Lighthouse – they watched the baby so I could take the other four up. It was a bit nervewracking with the ambitious and energetic pre-schooler, but all went well and the kids loved seeing the light flash on and off (it is one of the few working lighthouses).

June Beach Trips-002

Then we drove a little further south and hit Seal Rock for lunch and beach time. It is a gorgeous beach with lots of tide pools and a stream for the kids to play in (so they still got their water time) in fact the rocks form a sort of barrier to the ocean so they could play in some of the deeper pools at the edge of the water without my having to worry too much.

June Beach Trips-003

They found an amazing variety of seaweed – I wish I had taken more photos of their seaweed finds.

June Beach Trips-004

Even thought the tide was going out we would get the occasional amazing wave crashing on the rocks and it was simply gorgeous! All in all the two solo beach trips were a great success and I am looking forward to taking the kids again!

8 Comments

Filed under Dot, Em, Family, Jacob, James, Lizy, Nature, Photography

8 responses to “Our last two beach trips

  1. Sigh. I miss living on the coast and heading to the beach. It looks like you all had a ton of fun.

  2. I’ve been thinking about trying the solo beach trip too. Maybe we could go out together some time? Your pictures are so great! That Seal Rock place looks beautiful.

  3. moniquel319

    Looks like fun. I have only been to the beach once with my daughter and I was so worried the whole time I wondered if it was worth it. I stick to lakes now. We had a blast at the one near our house. It has a sandy beach and everything. I can’t imagine five children though. I was constantly looking at one or the other of my two!

  4. Okay, Wow! 1) I love the beach! 2) You are brave! 3) Those pictures are AWESOME!!! And 4) What program do you use to make your collages?

  5. I LOVE how you do your pictures like that 🙂 It was good to hear from you!! It looks like you guys had a great beach trip and the light house pictures are gorgeous.

  6. Awesome photos-love beachy shots anywhere, especially when kiddos are having a blast.
    I climbed a lighthouse last year-228 steps and I did feel like I was going to heaven-I was one big ache. It was cool at the top!

  7. Hey, we just went up to Oregon for our vacation. I keep forgetting that you and another blogger friend live up there… I could have gotten suggestions from you. We stayed in Eugene at my aunts for two days, then headed to Gold Beach for two days. Beautiful state you live in! Looks like you had fun at the beach.

  8. What fun! You are one brave mama to go to the beach with 5 kids , although I’m headed to our local beach with 5 (my own 3 plus a niece & nephew who I am babysitting for the afternoon) kids … should be an adventure! At this particular beach, though, there are lifeguards, so that eliminates the safety issue as far as the water is concerned :). Hope you have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

