2009 Children’s Heart Foundation Heart Picinic

It’s hard to believe that four years ago I didn’t even know what heart defects were. I didn’t even know that some of the families I knew at the time were heart family survivors. I thought they uncommon and rare. When Jacob was born all that changed.

The moment we were life flighted to the hospital and he was diagnosed with Transposition of the Great Arteries my eyes were opened and our lives changed forever – for the better. Yes there have been many scary moments and I would have never wished or wanted our son to go through heart surgery and all the things he did, but we have grown through it and our lives are more enriched. I have met amazing people and made lifelong friends. My faith has grown in ways I never knew possible and I have found an amazing cause worth fighting for. (There are a lot of amazing causes worth fighting for – but sometimes there is that one that you feel connected to.)

On Saturday our local Children’s Heart Foundation chapter held a family picnic for CHD survivors and their families. It was fun and amazing to see Jacob running around with all the other kids and to chat with other heart moms I have come to know and love as we pray for each other, cry with each other, and celebrate and cheer with each other.

There was face painting and games and some great reminders about the importance of research – (which is what the Children’s Heart Foundation funds – research for Congenital Heart Defects). Our cardiologist was even there and it is always wonderful to see him (out of the office of course!).

We hope this new tradition of the Heart Family picnic continues and that next we can see the return of the Lion Heart Festival in addition.

2009 Heart Picnic Collage-001

4 Comments

Filed under CHD, Heart, Jacob, TGA

4 responses to “2009 Children’s Heart Foundation Heart Picinic

  1. moniquel319

    Wow you blog fast I had just finished reading about the croissant episode when I went back to my blog and saw the rss feed had changed and I had to click back!

  2. Karen

    I’ve learned a lot about heart defects from you. Glad you had fun at the picnic!

  3. It looks like you guys had lots and lots of fun. I’m so sorry that I completely forgot to call you when we got released from the hospital… I was exhausted!

    We are planning to take a trip up that way for pleasure soon so I’ll call you!

  4. Great post. I totally understand. Just three years and one week ago, I knew nothing about heart defects either. What an education!

    Today is J’s Heart Surgery Anniversary. Two weeks ago, we also went to the Saving Little Hearts Symposium at Duke. What a great time we had!

Leave a Reply

