Fall (the season, silly – what were you thinking?)

Autumn

Trees don their burnt orange frocks
Before midnight winter   stealthily   steels   in.
Leaves dance
                      dizz-
                    ily
                      down-
                    ward;
A crisp crinkly crunch                 my feet.
                                  beneath

Apples polished to a shiny rosy red.
Enameled teeth
        sink
into white flesh
With an audible cool crunch and juice,
Dribbling
delectably,
descends
my chin.

Pointy
pencils scrape paper;
Inhale the scent of wooded lead
And the dusky pulpy
Pages of books barely opened.

The wind, now bold and brisk,
Bites my cheeks and teases my hair
Into a frenzied flurry of chaos, chasing clouds across the sky.

-J.H. Schmidt

I love fall. I love the smell of freshly sharpened pencils and wet earth as the rain sets in. I love the grins on kids faces as they return to school, and the feeling of slightly more time to get things done.

Back to School-001

Back to School-002

I love the sound of laughter as leaves are raked and piles jumped into. I love pumpkins bright and orange and bouncing behind the tractor on a hay ride. I love the cheering and flushed faces as the kids kick the soccer ball down the field.

Soccer-002

Soccer-003

Soccer-001

Soccer-004

This time of year is SO much fun! I can’t wait to go to the pumpkin patch with the kids and rake the leaves. I feel positively giddy! 😀

4 Comments

Filed under Children, Dot, Em, Jacob, Lizy, Nature, Poetry, Sports, Writing

4 responses to “Fall (the season, silly – what were you thinking?)

  1. moniquel319

    I’m not quite giddy more like warm and fuzzy but I share your sentiment.

  2. I’m with you 100%, I love fall and I love spring, it’s seems to be the anticipation of a change in weather that I love. Once summer or winter is here it’s not near as exciting, but that changing time is blissful!!

  3. Pamala

    Tell J.H. I love the poem. Such a way with words…

Leave a Reply

