Random Friday Post (of prenatals, Jacobisms, and such)

Yesterday I had my first prenatal appt. I had an ultrasound done a couple weeks ago to figure out my due date, but this was the first prenatal. We had hoped to get some heart tones, but baby was hiding, so next time for sure. I am going to the same midwife (whom I love) that I have with the last four pregnancies, so this will be baby number five in our family with her. Elizabeth was the only one not born with her – we were living in Utah when she was born.

We are planning on going to her birth center again – Andaluz. Though we loved having a homebirth, we decided that with lots of kids its easier to call someone to come to the house to watch them while we got to the birth center than it is to farm all the kids out. We love the birth center – its beautiful and homey. I’ll do a waterbirth again – I do so love waterbirths.

I don’t have the same worries I did when I was expecting James – now having a healthy child after our heart child, the paranoia and worry is lessened some, though we will still definitely do the 20 week ultrasound clear doubts.

So far things are going well – I am 11 weeks on Sat and finally starting to feel more human – though today I was hit with a lovely migraine which brought on the queasiness and exhaustion again.

***
I mentioned on Facebook that Paul and I joined a community band. We are having so much fun. We met first the first time in band at Ricks College in January of 1996 – so it is fun playing together again. My old highschool band director is our conductor now which makes it extra fun. The band is really quite good, especially for a community band, and we are playing some really cool music. Our first concert is next Sat. where we are playing in an adult community band festival hosted in Hillsboro. It feels so good to be playing the horn again. Man, I love that instrument!

***
Jacob has been so excited that his cousin, John (my oldest nephew on my side of the family), has recently left for his mission. He is headed to Brazil, but for now is in the Missionary Training Center in Provo waiting for his visa and things like that. Jacob constantly talks about “My cousin John on a mission” and prays for him all the time. He also talks about grandma and grandpa on a mission a lot too. A couple weeks ago he walks up to Paul first thing in the morning and says, “You have to tell mom right now that I am going on a mission TOMORROW when I’m all grown up!”

***
The other night we were gathered around the table for dinner. We always say a blessing on the food, and as the head of our home Paul always invites someone to say the prayer. (We work together as equals, but I also believe that Dad has certain special responsibilities just like Mom does, and that’s one of them 😀 ) Paul asked James to pray and Jacob got really upset. At first we thought he was upset because he wanted to pray. We tried to soothe him, saying he could say the family prayer before we went to bed.

He scowled at us. “No. I choose.”

Paul and I exchanged looks and raised eyebrows as we launched into a gentle explanation. “It’s Dad’s responsibility to choose. He is the head of our home and he has the priesthood.”

“I can choose too.”

“Not yet, when you are older and you have the priesthood then you can choose when daddy is not home.”

“No. I choose now. I have priesthood too.”

“Ummm. Honey, no you haven’t recieved it yet. Now, when you turn twelve-”

Jacob crossed his arms across his chest in defiance. “I have too. I go to priestschool!”

Paul and I just about fell out of our chairs laughing. We managed to smooth the laughter away in order to correct him. “No honey, you go to PRE school. You can’t recieve the priesthood from a school.”

He decided to believe us after that, but Paul and I snickered our way through the rest of dinner.

9 Comments

Filed under Children, Humor, Jacob, Music, Pregnancy, Things Kids Say

9 responses to “Random Friday Post (of prenatals, Jacobisms, and such)

  1. moniquel319

    Too funny! Priestschool!!!! I love it.

  2. stephanie

    Adorable and hilarious. Out of the mouth of babes…

  3. April Brewster

    Cute! Glad you’re starting to feel better 🙂

  4. Jacob totally makes me laugh 🙂

    I am seriously jealous of you… I am now 14 weeks and I am still sick all the time! Ugh! I am still waiting for that magical time when I feel better!!! I also wish I could just go to a birth center, or have a home birth. I get to choose the one and only hospital (90 min from here) that will take me because of my high risk status. C-section number four anyone? In all actuality, I am excited for you… you get to make choices!

  5. I go in for my first dr appt on Monday! They’re going to do an ultrasound to see how far along I am. I think I’m somewhere between 12-14 weeks. I’ll have to find out more info once we move, but I’m looking into homebirth or a birth center. After everything that happened when Jenacy was born, I’m pretty adamant about not giving birth in a hospital this time. I’ll have to find out more info though…if they put me in a higher risk category or something I might get my options taken away 😦 We’ll see.

    Glad you’re feeling better too! I’ve also been feeling a lot better! 😀

    • Yay for your first appt! 😀 We had an awful experience with Liz and that is how we got started on our path – also my sister had all six of hers at home, so we were very familiar with home birth and had a great source for questions, etc. I’d be happy to answer any questions I can if you want and if you start looking for a midwife and want me too I can ask my midwife if she has any reccomendations for your area. She has two birth centers now and has trained a lot of midwifes, she seems very well connected and I know she would answer any questions you had even though you wouldn’t be going to her.

  6. Sarah

    Well, in his defense it is basically all the boys from his primary class 🙂 It might seem that they have “priest”school…hehe

  7. Wendy

    So darling. Priceless.

Leave a Reply

