50/50 Word Challenge Part 2

Yikes! We were having so much fun over Christmas, I’m a little late getting this in.

I had a hard time choosing, finally I settled on this beginning by SJB Writing

The Sparkler

The diamond sparkled as much as the lights on the Christmas tree, but less than lights in his eyes. “Marry me,” he murmured, pressing his lips against her shoulder.

She held her breath, then closed her eyes so as not to see the hurt in his. “I’m sorry. I can’t.”

Here is my ending:

He stood silently in front of her. She peeked at him from beneath her lashes. Her heart tugged at the sight of his slack jaw and slumped shoulders. A smile teased the corner of her mouth and his eyebrow raised.

Mischief laced her words. “I can’t because you’re not kneeling.”

4 Comments

Filed under 100 Word Challenge, Writing

4 responses to “50/50 Word Challenge Part 2

  1. What a beautiful ending. You have turned a sad beginning into something humourous and full of hope. I love it. Thank you!

  2. Pingback: 50/50 word assignment – WEEK 24 (ENDINGS) | Welcome to the Ventahl Theatre

  3. Congrats! Not an easy one to turn around.

Leave a Reply

