100 Word Challenge #25

This week we are writing from the perspective of the girl beneath the arrow in the picture below.

The task was supposed to be a simple one. Slip the transmitter into Mai Lin’s purse and get out. Only I wasn’t a cool super spy. In fact, I wasn’t a cool or super anything. First gum, and now pigeon poop. If  the shwop of my sticky shoe didn’t alert her, my smell would. I pursed my lips and leaned in, failure wasn’t an option. My heart thumped against my ribs as the crowd pressed and jostled me. She didn’t even turn, just laughed at someone’s bad joke. For once I was grateful for my uncanny ability to be invisible.

13 Comments

Filed under 100 Word Challenge, Writing

13 responses to “100 Word Challenge #25

  1. Wow, nicely done mate! I love it, a nice take

  2. I was thinking along the same espionage lines, initially (that or pick pocketing, which didn’t seem to fit comfortably for xmas) – she does appear to be looking in her mates bag, but couldn’t get quite the right angle. So opted for the hat. Glad I didn’t as you’ve done it brilliantly 🙂

    • Ventahl – Thanks! I thought about pick pocketing too – how funny, but I didn’t think it fit well either. I really liked your clever hat angle 😀

  3. Love the spy angle – really original idea and expertly done!

  4. What an interesting take on the picture. Enjoyed this and breathed a sigh of relief that she got away with it 🙂

  5. I love it – really different!

  6. buddhafulkat

    it pulls the reader right in – love it!

  7. snagglewordz

    Hahaha, very good! I really enjoyed “Sneak” from ‘HerMelness Speaks’ and was hoping someone else would work with the bag angle. This is great – totally different from the others so far.

  8. Excellent angle and I breathed a sigh of relief when she got away with it :).

  9. So she’s a young spy! This was a fun take on the photo.

  10. So interesting….i want to know more!

  11. What a brilliant take on the prompt! Real intrigue and tension. Great writing!

Leave a Reply

