Gaining A New Perspective

The first Monday after Elizabeth passed away I woke up between 5:30 and 6:00 in the morning. I couldn’t sleep. I lay thinking of my daughter and how much I missed her.  Paul woke up around the same time and we lay in bed talking about her and the recent events.

As the sky lightened, I had a sudden longing.

“Paul, lets go watch the sunrise,” I whispered.

He nodded his head and checked to see when sunrise was supposed to be – we had 3 minutes, so we got dressed and went to stand in the drive way.

We faced east and waited.

And waited.

The sun rose, but it was overcast, and while it was pretty, it was difficult to see much. Honestly it was a little dissapointing. There were a few tinges of pale pink and gold that crept around the heavy clouds, but nothing like what I imagined. I leaned my head on Paul’s shoulder and sighed. I wanted more.

Then, Paul turned and looked behind us – towards the west.

“Look!”  He said, and I turned.

Behind us the clouds were bathed in golden pink light. My heart thrilled and I felt close to my little Lizy.

I thought about that beautiful moment many times in the past week. How often do we become focused on what’s right in front of us or on a single moment and fail to notice the beauty behind or all around? How often do we fail to see the little miracles, or even bigger ones, because we are focused on one major, specific event?  How often do we not notice how blessed we are because they come from unexpected places?

Life can send us many unexpected events. We can miss the blessings in these events if we only focus on where we expect the blessings or joy to be. We need to have a 360 degree perspective to really find all the joy in life. We never know when it might be right behind us.

Lizy’s death was tragic and unexpected, and we miss her SO very much, but just like our surprise sunrise in the west, we have witnessed so many unforseen blessings and miracles through this.

We have felt sorrow, yes, but also peace and immense, powerful, joy.

The sun will always rise on our sorrows….. if we let it.

13 Comments

Filed under Child loss, Children, Lizy, Miracles, Nature, Parenting

13 responses to “Gaining A New Perspective

  1. Pingback: Directing You « Glossary of Happy Endings

  2. Wonderful post! Thank you for the reminder!

  3. dee parsons

    I love u for inspiring me! U just don’t know.

  4. Janelle

    Wow. What a tender moment and an important lesson. ❤

  5. Julia, you are such a brave strong woman. Thinking of you and your family.

  6. You are amazing. You inspre and appreciate so much in the midst of your major sorrow. My tears and prayers are with you and your family.

  7. I love you, Julia. You never cease to amaze me.

  8. Lovely, inspiring, and so very true. So far, I’ve found nothing so thin but what it has at least two side, one darker than another. I love looking for the bright side and, apparently, so do you. We can’t seem to help what happens to us, but we can choose our reactions. May you always find the brighter side.

  9. Cathie Hawkins

    Dearest Julia
    You are the most profound writer. God has blessed you with a talent to express in words pictures so clear that I can see the sunrise with you and Paul. And yes – we do miss so much because we don’t leave our hearts open to the smallest details. You and Paul have been our prayers, on our minds and in our hearts. You have been a tremendous inspiration.

    I thank God for the time our paths crossed.
    In His love.
    Hawk

  10. Beautiful word picture filled with hope! Thanks for sharing, even in your darkest hours.

  11. Oh my goodness, I am weeping for your family. I am so so very sorry for the tragic loss of your daughter! Please know that you will be in our prayers. Sending love..

  12. I love this post Julia. I love your ability to find the sunshine amidst the clouds. Thank you for being such an inspiration 🙂

  13. Kim Larkin

    Beautiful. Your post left me in tears. Thank you for your faith.

Leave a Reply

