Whispers

Being

Gnarled silhouette
                              perching precariously upon the craggy cliff.
Defying the odds
     of a world that says
     it should not be there.
Roots digging,
                     grasping,
                          clinging,
Fierce determination
     to thrive.
Winds pummel the delicate branches mercilessly
      trying to tear them
      from their roots;
It remains steadfast.
Delicate, fragile, a beauty
      one regards with reverence.
Inner strength which the eye
      cannot behold.
Wisdom within
      its knotted branches;
God’s whisper upon the Earth.

Often that’s how I feel. Barely clinging on, grasping desperately at memories and trying to keep our lives moving forward. Sometimes I think I hurt more for my kids than for me. But even with all that is hard and feels close to impossible, I have seen and felt many of God’s whispers, especially since Lizy died. And often, they are accompanied by Lizy whispers too. A pink sunrise or sunset, pink flowers winking at me along a trail, a memory, a smile, a likeness.

All tender mercies from God that we are not forgotten.

Pink Sunset

3 Comments

Filed under Child loss, Miracles, Religion

3 responses to “Whispers

  1. moniquel319

    It is YOU that I am coming to regard with reverence Julia. I hope somehow, some way, the Lord will bless you with the full scope and knowledge of how much you and your family have blessed the lives of others by your example. I will miss seeing you at Storymakers, but I plan on calling and telling you all the details. 🙂 hugs to you my friend.

  2. julie emery

    beautiful julia. we love you all.

  3. Thinking of you. Reading more than participating lately, but I am trying to change that. This was a beautiful post.

Leave a Reply

