At the Park after Dark….

Last night with the onset of evening came an increasing need to get out for a while.

I decided to go writing. 

Once I finally made it out to the car with my computer bag in tow, I realized I had no desire to go to my usual haunt – Paneras. In fact, all I wanted was

to be alone.

No people, just me and quiet – or me, my music, and quiet.

I grabbed some almond M&Ms and headed to a nearby park.

It was wonderful, spending time alone with my thoughts. I didn’t work on my book like I had anticipated, but on yesterday’s blog post – the 100 word challenge.  I was so wrapped up in the my solitude that I didn’t realize it was well past dark. (yes, I had the car locked)

Just as I went to shut my laptop a bright beam of light slowly came down the park entrance and toward the van.

I knew what it was.

I didn’t realize that cops really patroled parks after dark, but apparantly they do.

Because, there sitting in front of me was a police car, with a

VERY

bright light hitting me square in the face.

I wondered briefly if being in a park after hours was a ticket offense.

I was sitting in the passenger seat of the van with my windows up. Puzzling what to do, I unlocked the door and attempted to poke my head out –

which isn’t a good idea

with a cop car sitting in front of you, but my brain hadn’t kicked in yet.

The cop very nicely told me to stay in the vehicle, so I apologized and popped my head back in.

Finally, my brain kicked in and I sretched across the van and turned the key so I could roll down my window.

Then I waited.

Once thing I have noticed in the few times I’ve been pulled over is that police officers like to make you wait.

Usually I get nervous,

but I wasn’t. I was rather intrigued as to what would happen next.

Finally the cop approached. “So, what are you doing in the park after dark?”

“Oh, I was just working on my computer, writing, taking a break from home and the kids for a bit. I didn’t realize how late it was, I had just put my computer away when you pulled up.”

He talked to me about the danger of being in parks after dark, espcially being a woman. He was very polite. He verified that I was alone and asked my name and where I lived. I motioned the direction (it’s not very far away).

“Well you’re free to go,” he said and turned away.

“Thanks,” I replied, “I’ll be sure not to loose track of the time again.”

He chuckled.

“Well, at least you weren’t a pot smoking wacko.”

I laughed. “Well, ya know….” I said sarcastically, with another laugh.

Which probably ISN’T the best thing to say to a cop.

Luckily he laughed, and I went home. 😀

 

3 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

3 responses to “At the Park after Dark….

  1. Janelle

    Your last comment reminds me of when I was carded for buying spray paint. I think I may have made some ill advised quip about vandalizing parks. Fortunately the slightly alarmed looking WalMart checker didn’t seem to care enough to actually DO something about it. I’ve been known to take a book (to read, not write) and go to the mongolian bbq restaurant in town all alone just to be somewhere quiet and alone.

  2. What kind of world do we live in when the cops investigate people for writing? 🙂 It’s important to get away to write. I can only write by myself, with music.

  3. You rebel you!!! Jeez, don’t you know about curfew?! 😉

    So, I thought that I’d made a couple comments recently on your blog via my phone, but I just went back and looked and apparently they aren’t posting when I try to comment from my phone. Aw well, now I know I’ve got to be on a real computer!

Leave a comment