Angelversary

Three years ago, with heavy hearts, we said our good-byes to our sweet Elizabeth Ane, had the machines turned off, and started on this new chapter of life. And while I have never known such depths of sorrow, I haven’t known such soaring joys, peace and comfort. In the past three years I have come to recognize more tender mercies and miracles from our loving Heavenly Father. Many of those tender mercies and miracles came to us through you – dear friends who have kept us continually in your prayers and followed promptings of service and love.

My faith has increased, and I have come to understand the atonement of Jesus Christ in a way I have never comprehended before. Often I am in absolute awe that I have survived this. I hope I have become a better person, more compassionate, more loving, and more like my Savior. I have come to know that in days of deepest sorrow it is still possible to find and know joy. I have also come to know that our Savior and Heavenly Father will truly pick up and carry our burdens when they are far too hard for us to bear.

It has been a long and arduous journey and while the burdens are lighter today than they were three years ago at this time, they are still there and I continue to turn to Christ for help in bearing them.  I know He lives and because He suffered and died for us and was resurrected, we too will live again. I know that through him we can attain peace and joy in this life and in the one to come. I know families are eternal, and while I yearn for that far off day when we are together again, I do my best to enjoy each moment here in mortality. I know that Jesus Christ and Heavenly Father love us and will never leave us alone. They are there, if we but turn to them in our hour of need, to comfort and guide us through. Their love is unconditional and ever bright.

I miss her- every day, but I know she is with us still. We carry her always in our hearts and memories, and I know she continues to watch over her family. We love you, dear Lizy.

4 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

4 responses to “Angelversary

  1. Was thinking of you after talking to another Mom who recently lost a child and thought I’d check your blog in case there was an update. How fitting that I would. Good to hear from you.

    • Thanks for coming by! I need to resurrect the blog and start posting regularly again – I keep telling myself I’m going to get on schedule (and then I keep forgetting, heh)

  2. Beautiful post, thinking of you!

Leave a Reply

