Small and Simple (not to mention Beautiful too)

Three nights ago Jacob was up every hour from 1 a.m. to 5 a.m.  He had a bad bout of diarrhea, thus causing some very painful diaper rash.  He’d wake up just howling, poor kid, and needless to say we didn’t get much sleep.  2 nights ago we thoughts things were going great until Elizabeth ran into our room at 2:30 a.m. crying that she needed a bowl and proceeded to throw-up on the floor beside the bed.  We had a short discussion about the toilet bowl being the best bowl there is, found a portable bowl, cleaned everything up and were back to bed by 3:15 or so.  She threw up four more times before 6:00 a.m.

To say that I was exhausted yesterday would be an understatement – not to mention I felt like every muscle in my body had been plowed into the ground.  Funny thing that, it was! 🙂  Then, add to that a very bad case of nausea and upset stomach.  I was not in for a very good day.

It actually wasn’t terrible, but it wasn’t good either – how can it be when a body is feeling miserable and trying to care for 4 children.  I can’t stand being sick and not getting anything done.  I always feel like I let my family down.  Not that any of them would think that in a million years, it’s just how I feel.

My HHH (handsome huggable hubby) came home to a disastrous mess, no dishes had been caught up, no dinner was made, and I was huddled under blankets wishing the world would disappear.  Worst thing to me was that he wasn’t feeling that great either.

He didn’t make any snide remarks like I suspect some husbands might do coming home to disaster, instead he changed Jacob’s diaper, started the dishwasher, and made dinner – all quite cheerfully.  It made me feel like a million dollars – such an awesome husband I have.

Then, in the evening, he took Elizabeth to meet with the bishop about her upcoming baptism. After wards he swung by the store to pick up some chicken and rice soup for me, since nothing else sounded like it would settle too well.  Elizabeth found me first, and with a big grin from ear to ear handed me a beautiful bouquet of lillies.  I wanted to cry they were so wonderful.  She and my darling HHH had picked out some flowers to make “mommy feel better”.  I love lillies at Easter, and these thrilled me to no end.  It really did make me feel better, and they smell divine.

I have no doubt that it is the little things we do that mean the most to people.  Things that we think don’t do much become miracles in their lives.  I had a friend who had been out on a hot summer day painting her house – no doubt she was exhausted and tired.  Another friend passed by and saw her out working away.  A few minutes later she was back again with a tall pitcher of lemonade. Something so small, but I know it had a huge impact on the friend, if nothing else than to say, “I love and care about you.”  It also gets me to wondering if I do enough of the little things for my family, friends and other people. Dropping a simple note, a bag of chocolates, a flower off to their doorstep, or being aware of simple needs.  Too many times I ask, “Is there anything I can do for you?” instead of being aware enough to simply do something – needed or not.  I for one seldom say yes when I am asked that question even if there is whole list of things I would love to have help with.  So, those flowers last night got me thinking, and instead of asking and thinking, I need to start doing.

Thanks HHH, they are beautiful and dear to me.  🙂

Lillies from Hubby 1

Lillies from Huby 2

7 Comments

Filed under health, Lizy, Love and Marriage, Parenting

7 responses to “Small and Simple (not to mention Beautiful too)

  1. The flowers are beautiful Julia! Thanks to SH, my girls can’t go into walmart without running to the cheap flower section and picking me out something. They never match, but I love them because of who thinks of me.

    It also about makes me cry when I hear my girls praying that Mommy’s hip will get better and not hurt anymore. Small and simple things indeed.

  2. I hope you are feeling better soon! Being sick and being a mom is the pits.

  3. Your post had such a nice ending. I’m sorry to hear you guys are not feeling well. Hopefully it won’t last long :).

  4. Hope you get to feeling better…
    sorry I haven’t been around for quite a while…
    I’ve been crazy busy with the real world…
    Is this officially Jacob’s blog? I need to add his blog to my “heart kids I watch” list…. let me know!!

    I’ll be back again!
    xoxo
    Thinking of you!

  5. You really do have a HHH. How sweet is he? Those flowers are lovely. I hope everyone in your family gets to feeling better – and that you don’t take any more tumbles, either.

    ((hugs))

  6. Sorry I haven’t been by. I’ve been slacking with visiting blogs in general. I hope your household is feeling better now, especially you. When both parents are under the weather, things can get very chaotic, I know.

  7. What a great post… it is true, the little things do mean the most.

    Beautiful flowers too! Way to go HHH!

Leave a Reply

