100 Word Challenge – Christmas Carols (la la la)

so, Limebird Writers issued a challenge, which they snagged from Julia’s Place (not me, another Julia – I like her already!)

The challenge?

to rewrite (using 100 or less words) a Christmas Carol making it be about Christmas dinner. Julia specifically stated (that is so weird saying my own name, I feel like I’m talking in the third person, ha ha – oh wait I am… oh never mind)

” I want you to choose a favourite carol and re-write it with the theme of a Christmas Dinner. You have to tell your readers which carol it is and they have to be able to sing your version back to themselves. That means the right tempo and beat.”

Anyway, it sounded FUN, so I HAD to do it.

I chose “It’s Beginning to Look a lot Like Christmas”.

Problem is

it’s a LONG song

so I planned on just doing the first Refrain.

After I did that, I had less than 100 words and I thought the patter would be quite challenging and I had to give it a try.

By then I was at 104 words. I could have left you all to repeat the refrain, but what’s the fun in that? and since I was over the 100 word limit ANYWAY I dove in and finished it off.

So, I broke the rules.

but I promise to do better in the future 😀

(if you’re a real stickler on the 100 words thing, just quit reading after the first refrain and you’re good. 😀 )

“It’s Beginning to Smell a lot Like Christmas”

 

Refrain

 

It’s beginning to smell a lot like Christmas

Oven is aglow

Take a peek at the ham and then,

Whistling once again,

You snitch a cookie quick so mom won’t know.

 

It’s beginning to smell a lot like Christmas

And the hour is late

All the yummiest things to eat

Are pulling you to your seat

But you’ll have to wait.

 

 Patter

 

A slice of strawberry pie and some rolls make you sigh as you wish the meal would begin

Warm Christmas cake and the punch make you ache as the drool de-sce-ends your chin.

Then fin’ly mother gives the call for you-u to dig in.

 

 Refrain

 

It’s beginning to taste a lot like Christmas.

Joy in every bite

Eat some mashed potatoes and ham

Slather some bread with jam

And get so full that all your jeans are tight.

 

It’s beginning to taste a lot like Christmas

Food and punch galore

But the thing that will taste the best

Is the late afternoon rest

Passed out on the floor.

Now, it’s YOUR turn!

(Let me know if you do it, because I want to read it!)

Go HERE to read others – and you can add your own link to the list if you want 😀

24 Comments

Filed under 100 Word Challenge, Music, Writing

24 responses to “100 Word Challenge – Christmas Carols (la la la)

  1. This is awesome Julia! Go you! 😀

  2. Thanks, Limebird Beth! 😀

  3. Hello Julia & welcome to the 100WCGU!
    I love your choice of song – it’s one of my favourites. It is a great re-write and has made me very hungry! I love the bit about the afternoon on the floor!. As it is your first piece we’ll not say anything about the word count (;).

    I do hope you will become a regular because I’ve had a look at your fabulous blog and just know you will fit right in!!

  4. Hi Julia!
    Great job! You rhymed and everything. Woo hoo!

    Kate aka limebirdkate aka 4amWriter 🙂

  5. I had to google it to get the tune but then I crooned along – loved it. Thanks.

    • Thanks for coming to my place and leaving a comment on Away In The Kitchen. However, this is my friend’s entry (I host her as she doesn’t have her own blog). If you have the i nclination to go back and scroll down some more, my entry is Not So Silent Night. Thanks.

      Btw – Iwanted to tell you not to worry about the excess number of words as Christmas seems to be all about excess these days 😉

  6. I don’t care how many words it is, this was AWESOME! I sang it to myself and everything 😮 At first, I thought it was going to be about something else…lol. Really good job!!!!!

  7. I love what you did with it. Hopefully you’ll get a chair instead of the floor when the real thing rolls around.

  8. Love it! The jeans too tight bit is always a dead cert – unfortunately! So glad you like the 100WC – isn’t Julia clever to think them up! She has us all hooked.

  9. I love it! great work here.

  10. Perpetual Chocoholic

    I love the picture you have at the top!

  11. Thank you, Ottabelle – I hope I get a chair (the couch would be even better!) too 😀

    Laura – Thanks for coming by! (and commenting, comments are nifty!)

    PC – Thanks! Good to see you again! 😀

  12. Great! Funny thing is, I hear Michael Buble singing it. Very weird! Polly

  13. I love it! Especially the bit about passing out on the floor, lol! Can I just say I love the way you make your blog so colourful with the highlighted words, it’s just really pretty and adds a load of character. Nice to meet you :O) x

  14. Polly – that’s pretty funny! 😀

    Brink o f Bedlam – Thanks! Nice to meet you too 😀

  15. Karen

    You are so creative!

  16. Hello,love your version. Think Michael (buble of course) should stop by and record all our alternatives…ring the changes and all that. Will be sharing these over the hols. Good job:-)

  17. gsussex

    Enjoyed your version and ref. to strawberry pie in particular! . . . We don’t tend to have it here at Christmas and was good to hear other food options

  18. This is perfect, really enjoyed this. Well done. x

Leave a comment